Macro photography: macro lens or close up lens

edited August 2015 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hi Friends,

1st of all Happy friendship day. :)

I am a newbie in the DSLR photography world.
Two months back, I bought a D5100 with 18-55mm kit lens.

I cannot shoot, birds or far away objects as I don't have zoom lens.

I cannot capture insects clearly as I don't have a macro lens.

So I am totally confused, what kind of photography I can do with this lens?
Simple photography I can do with my smartphone camera. I want to do something special and impressive.

I have tried some closeup fruits photography, and flower photography and they seems good, but insect closeups are not possible with the 18-55mm lens.

I was crawling the web and found that we need to buy a macro lens, which I can't buy now, but I found some cheap close up lenses. So, my second question is what lens to buy for macro photography?

Here are some closeup lenses below; will they work?

http://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B00J3U0KU8?keywords=MACRO LENS&qid=1438515388&ref_=sr_1_4&sr=8-4

http://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B00DEUI2JE?keywords=MACRO LENS&qid=1438515388&ref_=sr_1_5&sr=8-5

Regards
New BEE :)

Comments

• edited August 2015
    Close-up diopters of the sort linked to here do indeed work, and are one of the cheapest ways to get into macro range without dedicated lenses and other accessories.

However, these lenses do come in varying degrees of quality. The cheapest are a simple magnifier, and the better ones are compound with more color and aberration correction.

The cheapest ones will magnify alright, but may produce more distortion, especially at the edges, and possibly chromatic aberration (color fringes, etc.) too. However, even those will work, and may not be so bad for objects such as insects. Linear distortion is most conspicuous where straight lines are present in your subject. A bug on a leaf might look fine, where a bug on a window screen might show distracting distortion in the screen.