Lens for D3100

edited September 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I'm new to the photography world and have been using the D3100 for 2 years. I've spent a few days looking for a new lens, and I'm thinking of getting the 55-200mm f/4-5.6G ED IF AF-S DX VR Nikkor zoom lens, but I also came across the Nikkor Lens AF Zoom-Nikkor 70-300mm f/4-5.6G.

It's just my hobby, so I like talking photos of every thing except sports.

Was this the right choice considering the price?
Which one of them is the best for capturing in dim light and will give me the ability to get a good photo?

Thanks

Comments

• edited September 2015
    Make sure when you're shopping for lenses that you keep track of whether you're getting the most recent VR versions. Some of these lenses come in more than one version.

The more expensive 70-300mm is a full frame lens, which works fine on DX too, and it's said to be faster focusing and better made than the DX lenses. It's also, of course, heavier. If you are expecting to need fast focusing for sports and the like, this is the recommended lens. Even though it is not optically very fast, it is said to behave very well. If you can afford it, I doubt you'll be sorry to have it.

The 55-200mm is said to be optically very good, lightly made and to have a plastic lens mount, all helping to make it a great bargain if you don't need professional robustness. An alternative to that is the similar 55-300mm, which is quite similar in design except for having a metal mount. That extra reach can be nice, even though it softens up a little at 300mm. It's quite sharp well past 200mm, and acceptable for most things at 300mm. If you don't need the reach, then the 55-200mm is the best buy, but the 55-300mm (which is the one I have, by the way) is very versatile. It may depend on what sales are in effect. When I bought mine, there was a lens sale and a new-camera tie-in that basically made the extra 100 millimeters free.