Shooting gymnastics

edited June 2015 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hello, I have not been able to take good pictures at my daughter's gymnastics demos. I have been shooting in auto with no flash. Some pictures come out ok, but lots of them are blurry. I want to use both my 18-55mm and 55-200mm lenses.
Does anyone know what manual settings I could use for this indoor gymnastics event (no flash, the gym has fluorescent lights)? I'm still learning to use my D5100 and I bought Moose's cheat sheets which I find very helpful. I just wish the cheat sheets included indoor action sports with fluorescent lighting.
Thanks for any feedback you can provide.

Comments

• edited June 2015
    If your pictures are well exposed but blurry, then your problem is either in focus or shutter speed.

If possible, either open your images in a computer program that allows you to see the "EXIF" information, or go to your camera's menu and enable the information display in the playback. You can then find out what shutter speed and aperture was used for the blurry pictures.

Two possibilities seem most likely. The first is that too low a shutter speed was used, and you got motion blur. Auto mode gives you no control here.

The second is that the multi-point focusing in Auto mode was not aimed at the right subject. You also have no control here. If you want a specific person, you're better off going to single point continuous focus.

If you are hesitant to try all the control choices, I would suggest you switch to "sports" mode. This will at least give you faster shutter speeds, and single point auto focus.