Settings for blurred backgrounds

I've been using Nikon D3100 for 3 months now. I love taking pictures where you can actually blur the background and focus on a specific subject. What's the best way to blur backgrounds and put more focus on a specific subject, apart from configuring the setting under GUIDE and soften backgrounds. Thank you for your time and your helpful tips! :)
2»

Comments

• edited May 2015
    Not sure just whose post is being referred to above.

If you want a blurred background, you must have aperture at widest (smallest number), distance to subject not too great, and focal length as long as you can get away with.

If you're using something like the 18-55mm kit lens, then at most settings you simply cannot do it very well. The aperture is too small for the available focal length. Instead of artistic and appealing blur, you may end up just with the appearance of bad focus. Not all portraits should use background blur, and for some situations you should, instead, find backgrounds that make visual sense when they're in focus.

The further apart your subject and background are, the easier it is. If your background is a wall a couple of feet behind the subject, it will be in focus. If your background is a waterfall fifty feet behind the subject, it will be out of focus.

The closer your subject is, the blurrier. Macro always has a shallow depth of field. This shot was taken with a typesetting macro lens of very short focal length. If it had been focused at a normal distance everything would be sharp, but as you can see, at a few inches from the camera, even parts of the subject are soft:

http://jmp.sh/35UVa84
  • I am new to this photography adventure and am struggling to obtain a blurred background with the settings and process you have suggested. I am using am the standard 18-55mm lens. Is it me or is this just sometimes unachievable with this lens. Any help would be greatly appreciated
  • edited June 2017