Settings for on-the-go

edited April 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Just got my D3100. Haven't had much time to play with it and I'm planning to take it on a two week trip. What I would like is having it set up for anything that comes my way; that is if its possible. I do know based on searches that there are particular situations that would require different settings, but I was just wondering what I should change in the settings that would allow me to “get the shot” in most circumstances. I'm completely new to using a DSLR so not sure if there's a general setting that I can have it on to just take out the camera on the spur of the moment and take a shot. Any help or advice would be helpful either with the settings or what mode to use as well. I have 18-55mm and 55-200mm lenses. Which would be better to keep on the camera? Also what's the difference between these lenses? I mostly will be taking photos of my family and occasional scenery pictures.

Comments

• edited April 2015
    This may depend a little on how familiar you are with the camera's controls and ability to change things quickly. For example, I favor manual ISO with the function button assigned to ISO, while others might not. If you have any chance at all, practice as much as you can. Get familiar now with what you can and cannot do in a hurry. Some settings are easily managed with buttons, others fairly easily with the "i" button menu, and some rather inconveniently with only the "menu" button. The more you practice, the better you'll get. A digital camera allows you to take many wasted pictures and erase them. Experience pays.

My usual "on the go" setup would be to use the 18-55mm as the main lens, switching to the longer lens when you're likely to need reach. The 18-55mm will include more in its field of view, and be more likely to get scenery and closer shots of people, street photography, and the like.