Upgrade from D3100

edited January 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi! I've been following along here for a while, but this is my first time posting. The D3100 was my first DSLR and I've been using it for a few years now for portrait photography with a 50mm f/1.8 lens. I never use the video functions or the kit lens and I just feel that I'm ready for something better. My head is spinning with the forums about full sensors and crop sensors. I love my lens and I just want to buy a new, upgraded Nikon body but I don't know what to buy. What is the best Nikon body for portrait photography? If I am interested in the full sensor body will I have to buy a new lens?

Comments

• edited January 2015
    I believe the 50mm f/1.8 lens is a full frame lens, so it will work on a full frame body, but the field of view will be different. It's a normal lens on FX, similar to a 35mm on DX. The same field of view you now get in DX will require a 70mm lens in FX (EDIT NOTE it's 75mm, not 70mm. No 70mm prime exists, and the usual short telephoto portrait length would be 85mm). In FX format, an 85mm is very nice, but good ones are expensive. If you are happy with the field of view your 50mm gives now and want to keep things as they are, then your best bet is a DX camera.