Sports Setting on the T2i

edited March 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
Hello! First, thanks for sharing! I am new to Canon, switching from Nikon. I am real excited to learn how to use the camera for taking even better pictures than ever.

My son is a tumbler and gymnast. I am anxious to use the action sport mode. In practicing on that setting in bright light, low light and indoor light today, the pictures are all a blur :( (He was doing jumping jacks for my practice shots. I wondered what I am doing wrong. Any pointers?

Comments

• edited April 2013
    Howdy @wvubrandigirl - Sports mode (running man on the mode dial) automatically adjusts the in-camera settings to use a fast shutter speed. When shooting outdoors in bright daylight, you should have no problem freezing your subject. However, the moment you step indoors or you're shooting late in the day if will be much more difficult to obtain a sharp shot of a subject that's moving.

I'm guessing you're shooting with the 18-55mm kit lens. This lens has a very average aperture range. The lowest available aperture when shooting towards the wide-end (18mm) is f/3.5 and the lowest available aperture when shooting towards the long-end (55mm) is f/5.6. This is the equivalent to wearing dark tinted glasses.

Wearing dark tinted glasses outdoors is fine, because of all the bright light emitted from the sun. However, the moment the sun sets or you step indoors, it becomes much more difficult to see because the dark shades aren't letting enough light through.

This is what happens to your T2i when it's equipped with a lens that has an average aperture range. When it can't get enough light, it will first try to raise the ISO which is the image sensor's sensitivity to light. Next it will slow down the shutter speed so that more light is passed through to the image sensor. These two things can contribute to blurry images with lots of noise.