What is your opinion on the Eyefi Card?

edited December 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I am thinking about purchasing the Eyefi Card so that I can view photo's on my tablet as I take them or allow someone else to see as a take photo's. Does anyone have one or have you tried one? I am a beginner photographer and I am really starting to enjoy it, and trying to broaden my talent. Maybe this would be something that should wait until I have more experience.

Comments

• edited December 2014
    I've got an Eye-Fi X2 Pro card.

Pros:
    Easy setup
    No more USB cables or card readers to get photos off the camera.
    Free (temporary) cloud storage.
    Allows fast and easy sharing to other cloud services (Facebook, Google, Flickr, etc).

Cons:
    Transfer speed is just OK.
    Slows your work flow especially if you shoot a lot due to how long it takes to transfer the files.
    Uses your camera's battery for transfers. If transferring to a smartphone or tablet, they also take a battery hit.

My initial impressions of the Eye-fi card is quite good. I actually feel it's great for beginners since many people take pictures and never get them onto the computer for sharing or printing.

About a year ago, I shot a photo booth for a friend's wedding. I linked my Eye-Fi card to a tablet and had the shots transfer over so people could see their own photo moments after it's taken. It worked wonderfully, but compromises were made to speed up the transfer. I shot in medium basic JPG's to minimize the file sizes.

• edited December 2014