Indoor Basketball

edited December 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I've been shooting for almost a year, and I'm still learning and having fun.

I have a question on how to get decent shots at my daughter's basketball games.

Spent most of the night shooting with a 35mm f/1.8 S-Mode (1/500-1/800) Auto ISO (ranged from 1400-2000).

The large majority of the shots ended up blurry and/or grainy.

I realize most of this is due to the poor lighting in the gym, and also my inexperience - def the latter.

I opted for the 35mm versus the kit lens hoping it would be better given the low light.

Any tips on how to improve would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• edited December 2014
    Guessing here, but you might try lowering the shutter speed a little, down to 1/250 or so, and see if that can get you a bit more depth of field. S mode will use up all the apertures available before it ups the ISO. Or perhaps keep auto ISO on, and use a manual shutter and aperture setting.

Sports in a dark setting will always be a challenge.

Make sure your focus is not at auto, or it will look for faces and not always the ones you are aiming at. Try dynamic-area and AFA or AFC. Make sure too that the focus point is over what you're aiming at. It's easy to move by mistake. Practice panning to follow the movement of a particular subject.

Do not be afraid of continuous shots. If motion and camera jiggle are factors, sometimes one of a series will be better. As long as you're going digital you might as well "spray and pray." It's easy to erase errors.

A D3200 gives you fairly decent grain at ISO 1600, but above that it is pretty noisy. The darker things are, the more noticeable it will be.
  • edited December 2014
    One thing other than camera settings and technique that may be causing you difficulties, is your gear. The 35mm f/1.8 is a great must-have lens, but using it to shoot a basketball game is going to be tough.