D3100 Setting

edited August 2014 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi, I'm new to DSLR and I have the 18-55mm lens kit. I'm wanting to shoot products in a light-box and I'm wondering what settings are the best to use?

Comments

• edited August 2014
    That's a very vague prescription to start out with, and hard to address.

For starters, I'd point out that since the DSLR is digital, you can take a million pictures and delete them all. Experiment!

What works best is going to depend on what kind of light you're shooting in to, and whether you need your subject to be evenly in focus or parts out of focus.

In general, the closer you are and the more wide open your aperture, the shallower your depth of field will be. So if you want focus to go soft with distance, shoot close and open. If you want more uniform sharpness, close down the aperture and get as far away as you can. If you're shooting a product it will all be evenly focused if you shoot straight down onto it, and less evenly focused the more you bring the camera down onto a plane with what you're aiming at.

As an example, put a plate on the table. Shoot straight down at it. Now move your camera at a progressive angle until you're near the table top, shooting toward its edge. If you make a dozen shots as you progress you'll see the effect instantly. Do that once with the lens wide open and do it again with the lens stopped down to something around f/11 or f/16, and you will again see the difference immediately. If you use the smallest apertures, you may sacrifice some clarity to gain depth of field, owing to diffraction loss, but you can judge how the compromise suits you by trying it both ways.