Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S DX as only lens for D5100?

edited July 2012 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
I am about to buy my first DSLR (D5100) and I'm torn between getting the kit lens or getting the body only and buying the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S ($200 on Amazon).

I have 3 young kids, and I am looking to take some indoor photos without flash. According to reviews, the 35mm lens will work well in lower light situations. I also love the ability to blur the background.

So my question is the D5100 is only $100 more when purchased with the kit lens ($650). Or I could go body only ($550) and get the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G AF-S lens ($200) to use as my only lens until I can get another lens some day. Is this crazy? As a complete novice, should I just get the kit lens? Would that be more flexible, or would it just not provide the blurred background and low light performance?

Thanks.

Note: I asked this question on another forum, and received a wide range of opinions. Some feel that the kit lens is really necessary because the 35mm just isn't able to handle much more than standard indoor low-light situations. Others feel that the 35mm is the lens on their D5100 99% of the time. What is the general feeling here? I know it would be only an additional $100 to get the kit lens as well, but I'd rather not get it if I can be happy surviving 6 months with only the 35mm. Once I have more money and a better understanding of photography, I could then purchase another lens.

Comments