Photographing subjects in the dark and from a distance

edited April 2012 Posted in » Canon T3i Forum
Hi @Moose - This is a wonderful website and I really appreciate your effort in providing tips across different platforms. :) I'm new to the world of SLR's and have the Canon Rebel T3i with a basic EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS kit lens. I have two questions...

1) How do I shoot pictures in the dark using my T3i? I tried different modes, but either the pics are blurry or the camera does not click.

2) How do you focus on people close to the camera and a far off object? In my case I could not take good pictures when I went to see the Hollywood sign from Griffiths observatory. :( I want to take good pics next time.

Thanks, KS

Comments

• edited April 2012
    Hi @hsks - Do you really mean in the "dark" without flash? For low light shots using your current lens, you will need to set your mode dial to AV, the aperture to F3.5 and your lens to 18mm. Set your Auto ISO to the highest level. Mount your camera on a tripod (switch off IS) and set your self-timer to 2 seconds. With luck you might get something albeit very noisy (grainy).

To answer your second question...Canon has a mode on the dial marked A-DEP. This mode attempts to make sure that everything from near to far is in focus. When you are more confident with your camera you can try setting aperture to give the required DOF (depth of field). I am sure Moose will come back with more (and probably better tips). Best regards, PBked
  • Howdy @hsks - I appreciate the kind words and welcome to the T3i forum. Let's dive right in...