RAW versus JPEG

edited October 2013 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
I have been shooting with my 60D for close to 2 years, and all that time I have been shooting in JPEG. A year ago I was going on vacation and asked the guy in the camera shop the same question; he said shoot in JPEG. I did with no problems, and had my usual amount of keepers versus trash and was able to edit in Lightroom.

Now a year later I am going to Central Europe, and I'm wondering weather to shoot in RAW. I have read many pros and cons about the two. Yes, more detail in RAW is good, but not if it's going to cause problems in processing. Also, I read that RAW files have data that the human eye cannot distinguish; is that true? For the record I use Lightroom5 as my editing program. I know many of you would say shoot in both but why?

Any comments would be appreciated.

Comments

• edited November 2013
    Hi Harry6,
    This is a topic that comes up time and again on these forums. If you do a search you will find many threads. However, to cut to the chase.
    a) RAW files retain every piece of data that the sensor collects.
    b) There is no in camera processing carried out at all.
    c) The data is infinitely editable.
    d) RAW is good for the professional, photo manipulation and printing out, because you can correct lens faults (chromatic aberrations and many other aspects).

A) JPG files are actually captured as RAW files and then processed in camera.
    B) Limited further editing is possible.
    C) File sizes are considerably reduced by compression algorithms.

RAW cons:
    1) File sizes are very large.
    2) There is no standardization between manufacturers so RAW files need to be converted if you wish to share your photos.
    3) You can spend a great deal of time in editing and actually end up with a result the camera would have produced in a Jpg.

JPG cons:
    1) Limited editing available
    2) Data discarded by compression and processing.