Using Canon's software for photo editing

edited February 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Ya'll, I'm still new to the DIGITAL side of photography. Starting to play with the post production of some of my shots. I have forced myself to compose the majority of my shots as if I was using film, but I want to play with the "curves" and balance.

What is layering and can it be done with the included software package? I kind of figured out how cloning works to remove something from a shot, but would love some pointers there as well.

If ya'll want we can pick a spot and go from there and break it into chunks. I bet I am not the lone ranger in this subject, LOL. Thank Ya!

Comments

• @Auston - When looking at the available photo editing programs on the market, it's a bit confusing trying to decide which one which one is right for your specific workflow.

Some people just want to do basic edits (brightness, sharpness, contrast, ect...) and call it a day. Others want advanced photo manipulation control over their images.

In regards to the Canon supplied software...there's nothing "wrong" with it, however, you have to think about your time invested in learning how to use the program.

Generally speaking, it's safer to invest your time learning how to use a third party program, rather than relying on Canon's included software. My fear would be that they stop upgrading the software package, because there just so many other available options on the market. In that situation, you'd eventually have to abandon it and start your learning process from scratch.

In regards to the photo tools out there today, I would group them as follows...

Basic photo editing, batch processing and management
    1. iPhoto by Apple
    2. Picasa by Google

Advanced photo editing, batch processing and management
    1. Lightroom by Adobe
    2. Aperture by Apple

Intermediate photo manipulation
    1. Photoshop Elements

Advanced photo manipulation
    1. Photoshop