Zoom Lens for Nikon D5100

edited May 2013 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
I am an enthusiastic photographer who recently bought a Nikon D5100 with AF-S DX Nikor 18-55 f/3.5-5.6G VR lens kit.
I usually shoot natural scenery, sunset views and travelling photography is also my interest area.

I'm looking for a good Nikkor zoom lens. Please suggest some good options.

I'm confused among the following lenses:
Nikon AF S DX Zoom Nikkor 55 200mm f/4 5.6G ED
Nikkor AF S DX 55 300mm VR f/4 5.6 Len
Nikon AF Zoom NIKK0R 70 300mm f/4 5.6G
I don't want to carry lenses whose ranges overlap.

Thanks

Comments

• edited May 2013
    Any of those three are good lenses. If money isn't an issue, I would go for the 70-300mm, which is actually what I own now and I'm selling my 55-200mm. I needed more reach and a little better quality image. It's better to have the extra reach and not always need it than to need it and not have it in my opinion. A lot of the time you can just move closer to your subject, but other times you can't and the 300mm will be nice to have. My advice would be to get the 70-300mm refurbished to save some money and do it right the first time.
  • edited May 2013
    My 70-300mm came in today. I will tell you the 55-200mm is much smaller and lighter, but the 70-300mm is quite a bit better quality in the photos. Take your pick of priorities between a good lens that's cheap, light and small or a great lens that's big and heavy.
  • edited May 2013
    @Adelphos, thank you so much sir.

I talked about the Nikon 55-300mm VR (18.6 oz./529gm) with some people and they say it's better than the Nikon 70-300mm VR (26.3oz/745g) in my case, because there will be no gap in between my lens kit (I already have the 18-55mm). And of course it is lighter than the Nikon 70-300mm.

I am concerned about quality. For action and sports, the semi-professional 70-300mm VR has much faster auto focussing instead of the 55-200mm or 55-300mm, but I'm focusing on travel photography.