60D Twin Lens Kit

edited April 2013 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
I just purchased the 60D twin lens kit. I'm wondering what I can expect to achieve with these lenses (18-55mm and 55-250mm)? How can I get sharp, clear pictures and take photos in lower light situations?

Is there any form of portrait photography I can do with these lenses or will I need to progress onto something more specific later?

I am wanting to get to know these lenses as much as possible so I can use them effectively before I go buying other more expensive ones. I'm an absolute beginner, I've only ever owned a point n shoot before this!

Comments

• edited April 2013
    @chexiie
    I'm sure that @liontamer and @PBked (both regular contributors here) will agree with me that you've bought a beast of a camera to upgrade with. I've had mine for over a year now and despite the fact that it's my fourth digital, I'm probably less than 25% familiar with it.

The Canon manual is informative but bone-dry, so I'd recommend books such as David Busch's (I have no connection, I just own a copy) to help familiarize yourself with the numerous and sometimes overlapping functions.

It is a beautiful beast and as long as you can concentrate on the shot and not the camera. You won't be unhappy with the results, so don't go spending on more kit just yet!

Happy shooting!
  • edited April 2013
    Howdy @chexiie - Welcome to the forum and congrats on the 60D! To answer your question, both the 18-55mm and the 55-250mm are ideal for hand-held shooting outdoors in bright light. They can also be used to shoot motionless subjects/scenes (landscapes, food, etc...) in low light with the help of a tripod.