Settings for blurred backgrounds

edited February 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I've been using Nikon D3100 for 3 months now. I love taking pictures where you can actually blur the background and focus on a specific subject. What's the best way to blur backgrounds and put more focus on a specific subject, apart from configuring the setting under GUIDE and soften backgrounds. Thank you for your time and your helpful tips! :)

Comments

• edited March 2013
    @leslieaubrey - In order to capture a shallow depth of field (small area in focus), it's best to use a lens that can obtain an aperture between f/1.4 to f/2.8. Lower aperture f-numbers allow you to isolate subjects against buttery smooth backgrounds.

Without knowing which lenses you own, I'm assuming you have the 18-55mm kit lens. This lens can only go down to f/3.5 when shooting towards the wide-end of the lens (18mm) and only f/5.6 when shooting towards the long-end (55mm).

Since you can't get down to an optimal aperture f-number, you're going to have a tough time getting the blurred background effect that you're after. One way you can do this with your kit lens is to zoom to 55mm and create some space between you, your subject and the background. Shoot in Aperture priority (A on the mode dial) and select the lowest available f-number, which would be f/5.6 when shooting at 55mm.

This "trick" isn't always possible, especially when shooting in tight spaces when there isn't enough room. My advice is to start saving up for a 35mm f/1.8G or a 50mm f/1.8G lens. These lenses will allow you to capture sharp subjects against silky smooth backgrounds in a variety of shooting situations (daylight and low-light).

As for settings, you would shoot in Aperture priority and select the lowest available f-number...which in this case would be f/1.8. Hope that helps and happy shooting! :)
  • edited March 2012