Indoor Settings for Graduation After Concert Pictures

edited April 2013 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Bought my first DSLR, a 60D, and my daughter is graduating with last orchestra concert coming up. I want to take some awesome "after the concert" photos after show out in lobby where everyone is posing. I keep thinking I should not use a flash and have setup where I don't have to worry about that, but I really want great pictures.

Any suggestions? No Flash, with some type of handheld settings? Flash with AV mode, or Automatic Mode? Remember, I'm a newbie!

Thanks!

Comments

• edited April 2013
    @liontamer

I'm old enough to be able to agree with those sentiments, but jlm86 is looking at a one-off occasion, and even if he shoved a dozen rolls through a non-DSLR (or carried several pre-loaded cameras for speed), he still wouldn't know whether he'd got at least one good shot to remember the event by until days later.

And yes, while my 60D is my fourth digital, it is a beast to master properly. After a year of ownership, I'm probably no more than 25% familiar with it, but I'm loving the experience of learning!
  • edited April 2013
    Hi @jlm86,

Can't argue with @liontamer and @MisterD, however, I do have some suggestions. I'm not familiar with the 60D, but my ideas will work with most DSLRs.

To take the guesswork out of exposure, set your camera to P mode and auto ISO. I usually limit my auto ISO to 800; beyond this noise begins to creep in. Since you are going to work indoors I would just leave it on auto.

Now you need to consider 2 further options (exposure compensation and white balance).

Is it possible to visit the lobby before the event at roughly the same time as the event is due to take place?

If so, you can take pictures at your leisure and examine the results on the LCD. If the picture is too dark, then increase the compensation by one notch and take another picture. Do this until you are happy with the result.