Best Lens for Family Vacation on a Cruise

edited March 2013 Posted in » Nikon D5100 Forum
Hi, I'm new to all this and the Nikon D5100 is my first DSLR. I'm going on a cruise with my family and three kids, and would like to capture nice memories both onboard and outside during the excursions. I don't want to carry too many lenses with me, so I'm wondering which lens would be the best? My kids do not like to stand and pose for me, so I usually shoot candid photos. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• edited March 2013
    I took my 50mm f/1.8g on my last vacation and loved it! Plus, unless you need a long zoom, your kit lens should be fine. A 50mm f/1.8g or a 35mm f/1.8g is a great addition to a new DSLR owner. Buy one of the two and you won't regret it!
  • edited March 2013
    You can give a try to a 18-200mm or a 18-270mm lens. With these lens you can shoot wide angle or telephoto (you have the ability to zoom in - out). I think these lens are much more suitable for travelling.

On the other hand, i agree with @yioties, the 35mm or 50mm 1.8G is a great lens, but to zoom in, you have to use your legs :D, as it is a fix focal length lens with fixed angle of view.
  • edited March 2013
    Howdy @laurybsf - If the majority of your shots will be outdoors (on deck) around the pool, then I would go for the 55-300mm VR (see my visual guide). This will give you the ability to zoom in and capture candid shots of your kids from a distance, allowing you to sip a cold drink while relaxing on a poolside lounge chair. :)