"Busy" message

edited April 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
I was taking pictures at my nieces 16th birthday party Saturday night and while shooting, I would get a "busy" message on my screen and I couldn't take any photo's for about 6 - 10 seconds. There was indoor fluorescent lighting and the camera was set to Auto and Portrait mode. I was using the 18-55 mm lens. Oh, and the battery was fully charged.

I took pictures of my niece and her friends in front of a backdrop (set up like prom pictures). I would take 2 to 3 pictures of each person so they could pick the pose they like best but between snaps, I would get the "busy" message on my screen and have to wait several seconds before I could take another picture. Very frustrating. I'm just learning to use my T2i and still don't know a lot about the camera. I was just hoping it was something I had done and not my T2i. It's less than a month old. =/ Thanks for your help!

Comments

• Howdy @aunderwood - That message usually appears when the built-in flash is trying to "recycle" for the next shot. A fully charged battery will increase your shot to shot speed with flash enabled, but you'll still need to wait a few seconds before trying to take the next shot. Try disabling the flash and see if you're still getting the "busy" message. Let me know how it all shakes out.
  • edited March 2013
    I have been trying to figure out why my camera is doing the same thing. I'm so bummed. Well at least I know now its not just me with this problem. Hopefully there will be a solution out there for us.
  • edited March 2013
    I think my Canon is getting worse. I still get the "busy" message, but now I'm also having a delay when snapping in normal lighting. I will hold the button half way down to focus then go to snap and it won't snap until after the fact. I don't know what's going on.