Lens for DSLR video shoot

edited February 2013 Posted in » Canon Lens Talk
I am a beginner to photography. I am planning to do a very specific type of video shoot over a couple of months. The subject is going to be human. Subject would occupy not more than 1/5th to 1/3rd of the height of the video frame height because lot of background to the left, right and back of the subject needs to be captured. The subject and immediate area surrounding the subject need to be as sharp as possible. The goal is to get as clear a view of the face as the subject occupies only a little portion of the frame. From the very little of what I know, I think this is what I might need to do:

- Shoot as low an ISO as possible.
- Shoot as high a shutter speed as possible (to avoid motion blur and to get crisp contrasted subjects).
- Get better dynamic range which can in turn help me have the subject looking better and sharper.

What kind of lens should I go for? Would a f/1.2lens work better than a f/2.8 lens?
I have a T3i and Canon 50mm f/1.4 lens. How much of an improvement (lower ISO, increased shutter speed, better dynamic range) can I get if I upgrade to an L? How much of an improvement can I get if I upgrade to a full frame?

@Moose I really like the design of this site. @Moose and @PBKed I have tried to gather answers to my question from many of your comments to other discussions, but have not been able to reach a conclusion.

Comments

• edited February 2013
    Hi Ikas,
    I think the solutions you have listed are correct. However, I am trying to decide what kind of video you are wanting to produce. By that I mean what is the importance of the subject in your frame? From your description, it would seem that it is not the human, but then in your scenario, it is not the background either.