Safari With a 60D

edited December 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Hello. I've read some of the topics/tutorials on this site and I must say, it's all very helpful! I was hoping I could get a little advice for my upcoming trip. I'll be going to Kenya in about 2 weeks to do some research on the wildlife and I would like to come away with some really nice pictures. I was hoping someone would be willing to give me some tips on what setting to shoot in, what type of focus to use, and any other useful hints that you're willing to offer. I'm a bit new to the 60D, so I'm trying to optimize my experience.
For reference, I have a 60D body and a 18-135mm lens. Should I get another lens? Should I get a tripod?

Thank you so much for your help!

Comments

• edited December 2012
    @ZDRaymond - Hi there. First things first. A tripod is a must. A good solid tripod is worth its weight in gold when getting good wildlife photos. I would also suggest a good monopod as well for when you will be moving around.

Lens: I have the very lens you have and although I get good pictures with it, it will not give you what you are wanting. If you can, look at renting a bigger lens, or buy one (I don't know your buget). I would recommend the 70-200mm f/2.8L (if you are renting) for your midrange shoots. Then the 100-400mm f/4 L to reach out and grab those shots. That is ideal! My personal gear bag is the 60D body with the 55-200mm f/4-5.6 IS USM, and 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM lenses. I have a UV filter on every lens and a circular polarizer on stand by for each.

Settings: I always shoot in AV mode and let the camera set everything else. I would say just get outside and take photographs at different times of the day and study your pictures. Then write down notes of the lighting and camera settings. This way you will have a something to look back at.