Action Sports Shots

edited January 2013 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
I am a ball mom. I have been shooting pictures with a Canon Powershot for a couple years and have been getting great photos. For Christmas my parents gave me a Nikon D3100 with the standard 18-55mm and a 55-200mm lens. Will either of these lenses capture the great action shots (ball meeting bat or football mid air) that I've been able to get with the powershot or will I need to buy another type of lens? Any advise on settings would be greatly appreciated! I am a single mom so I don't have a huge budget, but I would look into putting money into one good lens that will capture these memories for me!

Comments

• edited January 2013
    Hi Dot3. It's all about shutter speed and lens focus speed. You should have +250 shutter speed to freeze motion. Also you can use continuous AF-mode when the subject is moving. Try the camera's sport mode to get a basic idea. Also, you might have to raise the ISO to get maximum shutter speed. Might have to go 400-800 even outside.

About the lenses, I'm not sure. From how far are you taking the photos? A 50mm f/1.8g would be ideal if you can get close. Personally I use a Tamron 70-300mm vc and just love it. Yes I hear pros say not to use zooms for action, but I'm getting results that satisfy me. I'm thinking of getting a fast prime lens though.

I think you should learn with your kit lenses which focal lengths you use most and then get a fast lens that will suit your needs best.

Here are some cheaper lenses for action:

Nikon DX 50mm f/1.8g (around 200 euro, used 120-150)
    Tamron 70-300mm vc (300-350 euro I bought mine used 200e)
    Nikkor 70-300mm vr

• edited January 2013