pictures of lightning

edited July 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
I love to watch lightning storms and would love to learn how to photograph lightning. I have a Rebel T2i and would like to know what settings I should use.

Comments

• edited July 2012
    I would also like to know the answer to this. Thanks.
  • edited July 2012
    Me three!
  • edited August 2012
    I don't know the settings on the T2i because I'm just a beginner too. No doubt the shutter needs to be wide open. :)

I do know there is a lightning trigger you can get for cameras, which would help out tremendously. This trips the shutter on the first flash of lightning. A typical lightning stroke consists of 8-10 flashes in quick succession. Sometimes the eye sees the flicker and sometimes not.
  • I had posted this answer to a similar question in the forum:

What I do is switch the dial on the camera to "Tv" mode (shutter priority). ISO I leave at 200. Then, set the exposure time to something around 5 seconds (play with the exposure time yourself). Using an external shutter release (with the camera on a tripod of course), I click away hoping to catch some lightning strikes. I've caught some fantastic ones using this method.

If you don't have an external shutter release, use the delay feature (set at 2 seconds) so you don't get blurry pictures.
  • edited September 2012
    Ok, I think I cheated then. The T2i records HD video? I record storms at 30 second intervals and then in pse 10 I break the movie into frames and save the frame of the lightning strikes as jpgs. The result is awesome pics of lightning. The next best thing would be to have a crystal ball so you know where the lightning strike will be.
  • edited September 2012
    Whatever works! :) I never thought of using HD video. I'll have to keep that in mind.
  • edited October 2012