Another Lens Question

edited July 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
I'm looking at purchasing a new lens for my T2i. I'm going back and forth between the Canon 50mm EF f/1.8 and the Canon 85mm EF f/1.8 USM and the Canon EF 50mm f/1.4 USM. I've heard that if you're going to spend the money, go ahead and go for the 1.4. However, I am intrigued by the 50mm 1.8 and the 85mm 1.8 as well. I know the 50mm 1.8 is much cheaper than the other two, but am I sacrificing quality for money?

I'm just a hobby photographer, but am often recruited to "bring your camera" at events to grab candid portraits and such. I like taking pictures, whether it be landscape, nature or people.

By the way, I just discovered your website and am bookmarking it for sure. Great tips and it's super easy to understand.

Comments

• edited August 2013
    I would like to know this too. I was looking at the first two lenses you mentioned as well, mainly for portrait shooting and such. One of the other threads on this sight suggested saving for an "L" lens. I'm not sure what that means or if that would be smarter.
  • edited July 2012
    @emilymore I did some googling about L series Lenses. Found this ( http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Canon-Lenses/Canon-L-Lens-Series.aspx )

"Canon L lenses are top quality pieces throughout the line. They typically have wide apertures (fixed throughout the zoom range for most L zoom lenses). Canon L lenses share a rugged build quality. The build quality combined with wide minimum apertures usually result in Canon L lenses being heavy.

The image quality of the Canon L lenses is generally as good as it gets. Contrast, sharpness, color, bokeh (background/foreground blur quality), flare, CA (Chromatic Aberration), all are excellent. Full Frame camera body owners will especially find L series lenses to be (on average) significantly sharper toward the edges of the frame compared to lesser lenses.