why were they blurred?

edited July 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Using my D3100 at a party last weekend a lot of the pics came out blurred (where there was movement of hands, faces etc). It was inside on sport setting with flash under electric lights and people were dancing (house party in kitchen not dancehall dark).
Now, let me see if I have got an idea myself. Could it be that the flash is not up to the job thus making the camera keep its shutter open too long? Am I way off the mark?
If so, what was I doing wrong and if the standard flash isn't up to the job which is a good flash unit to buy for the D3100?
If you haven't guessed I'm still learning. :o(
Thanks guys!

Comments

• edited July 2012
    If your shutter speed was slower than 1/60th of a second, some can hand hold at slower speeds, then that could be the cause. Look at the info in your blurred image.
  • edited July 2012
    Dino is right on, and at 1/60th depth is better for a gathering, but if the party goers, guests, and dancers are on Red Bull or XTC and you you'll want a shutter priority of at least 1/125th (loss of depth)....What were your settings?
    The Nikon on-camera flash does an amazing job!
  • edited July 2012
    Hi guys,
    Thanks for the replies. According to iphoto the settings were ISO 2500 - f/3.5 - 1/60.
    My wife took most of the pics on sport setting. I may have messed around with things a bit so I just reset all the settings to default.
    Do the settings seem about right?
    Cheers!
  • edited July 2012
    I am new to the Nikon D3100 Forum. Can you please explain what 1/60th of a second is and how I can set this.

Thanks,
    Thamick
  • 1/60th of a second is the amount of time your shutter is open. The amount of time your shutter is open determines how much light is let in. You can change this setting when you are in the "S" mode that is on the setting dial.
  • edited July 2012