How to get accurate colors while shooting cars indoors

edited March 2012 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi, (preface) I am by no means a pro photographer I'm actually a designer, but being the only media guy at my work I naturally landed this job.

My work (dealership) just bought this Nikon D3100 brand new today after their D60 needed replacing. I shoot still cars all day long...ALL day long! In and out quick, boom-boom-boom, next car please. They are concerned about quantity, not quality...to a degree that is.

I have no idea what settings fit this atmosphere best and I need your advice here is a link to the room we use now (we are about to upgrade into a much cleaner more lit room) notice the floor...it's horrible and it kills the color of black and white cars. Black becomes espresso, and white-pearl diamond becomes cream-ivory. Any suggestions? I know using the flash makes it look terrible so these are all w/o flash. Thanks!

This dealership is owned by a fortune 500 company. They are very picky about the order the shots are taken in...explanation: no creativity. They have an order they like, so until we get our new room and real photo lighting this is what I'm working with. I have to work within the confines of my set-up...like I said quick. I'll shoot 15-40 cars a day

Comments

• @mhossey - Okie dokie, let's dive in. The color issues you're experiencing are related to White Balance. When the white balance is set to Auto, the D3100 will do a pretty decent job of obtaining an accurate white balance while shooting outside, but the moment you step indoors everything goes haywire.