Lens decision

edited July 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Trying to decide between the Canon 70-300mm, Sigma 150-500mm and Tamrom 70-300mm lenses. I need to get closer to birds such as hummingbirds at feeders, hawks teaching their babies to fly and other birds in trees. I also like landscape photography and night sky photography (which I am just trying to get my feet wet now).
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• edited July 2012
    I am a near beginner, so please take that into account. I have a Canon 70-300mm lens and have been very impressed. I have used it to take shots of my nephew playing rugby at Twickenham as well as wildlife in Sherwood forrest and in Florida. The lens seemed to cope with the different challenges, the light conditions and movement thrown at it.

I have no idea about the other lenses you mention, but for value I have been more than happy with the 70-300mm.
  • edited July 2012
    @JennieSW - On the 3 lens you mentioned, all of them will work for your bird shooting. I think that the Sigma will be more of what you are looking for in the wildlife catagory. It can work well in the night sky department also, when you put it on a solid tripod. But for the landscapes shots, you are really going to want a lens that will give you a wider view than any of the ones you listed above. You might want to look at something like the Canon 17-28mm, Tamron 18-55mm, or something along those lines (I am not sure on the focual ranges, I am shopping for a long lens myself).
    Again, on the landscape photos, people usually want a lens that captures the broad view.
    I hope this got you looking in right direction.
    Cheers,
    Auston
  • edited July 2012