Which wedding setup should I use?

edited May 2012 Posted in » Canon T3i Forum
I was recently asked to photograph a very low budget wedding. They know I am not a professional, but after seeing my work they still would like me to be their photographer.

The wedding is going to be outdoors if the weather permits. I have a Canon T3i, the kit lens and a 50mm f/1.8. I'm also borrowing a Nikon D3100 with kit lens and an 18-200mm lens. I plan on using my Canon and 50mm f/1.8 for the more artistic and candid shots, but I am still debating which camera and lens I should use for the actual ceremony. Any ideas? Tips?

Thank you so much!

Comments

• Howdy @lindseynh - Wow, that's a fantastic opportunity for you. In looking at both options, I would lean towards the Canon T3i with the 18-55mm (kit lens) and the 50mm f/1.8 and bring the Nikon D3100 as a backup in case something goes wrong with the T3i.

The decision is based more on your lens selection, than anything else. You'll be able to take the majority of your shots using the "nifty fifty" (50mm f/1.8), everything from portraits, intimate moments, hands, rings, flowers, food, centerpieces, etc...

There will be some situations, where you'll need wide-angle as well, like group shots, interior decorations, outdoor church shots, etc... This is where the 18-55mm comes into play.

Unless you're restricted from getting close to the stage, you won't need a telephoto zoom lens like the 18-200mm for your Nikon.

With this being your first wedding, I would focus on getting as close as you physically can to the subject, rather than trying to shoot from a distance.

In addition to your current setup, I highly recommend a second battery and a second memory card. These are necessities.