Don't wan't to use Auto mode anymore

edited February 2012 Posted in » Canon 60D Forum
Hi, I'm fairly new to DSLR cameras. Been using a Sony Nex-5 for a year now and always found my favorite setting to be auto or shutter priority.

I just bought a new Canon 60D, but I'm having trouble with auto mode. I've been using Tv shutter priority, but after setting the shutter speed I always get a flashing value which says the pictures are going to be over or under exposed.

I'm finding it hard to get all the values to work together (frustrating). Ideally I would like to have my iso set at 100/200 as you never know when your gonna get that printable shot, whilst having a fast shutter speed ideal for moving kids and a nice shallow deph of field.

Any suggestions on settings or picture modes? Thanks!

Comments

• @Crystalkairon - Howdy and welcome! Yep, I know it can be frustrating. Learning how shutter speed, aperture and ISO work together will take some time.

I understand the desire to control the ISO in order to prevent image noise, however, an inaccurate exposure is worse in most cases.

Shutter priority (Tv) allows you to control the shutter speed, while the 60D controls the aperture and ISO (when Auto ISO is enabled) to capture an accurate exposure. If you restrict the ISO to a specific value, then the 60D can only adjust the aperture which can present some problems when shooting in low-light or outdoors in bright light.

If I were you, I would revert back to Auto ISO for the time being. The 60D will naturally try to use low ISO. If there's not enough light, the 60D will begin raising the ISO sensitivity to get an accurate exposure.

If you're concerned about image noise in low light situations, I would think about using a speedlite (external flash), attaching a "bright" lens or running your images through dedicated noise removal software.