What lens to get for outdoor and indoor portraits

edited April 2012 Posted in » Canon T2i Forum
Hi! I am wanting to upgrade from the EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS II Lens to something that will make for more professional looking photos. I am an amateur photographer specializing in family, children, and newborn portraits.

I want to take my photos from looking amateur to looking professional. Right now, my photos look like this (example 1, 2, 3 and 4).

What lens do you suggest upgrading to that I can use for every situation? I need something that is good for full body portraits, head shots, and all the way down to the little tiny features of newborns. I have a budget of about $500.

Comments

• edited April 2012
    Hi @Teri - Don't sell yourself short...you have some great pictures there especially the black and white. @Moose will probably advise on lenses, but remember the most important part of a camera is not the lens but the 12 inches behind it. In other words, the camera does not make the picture...you do. Regards, PBked
  • What do you use for your lighting? How much post editing do you do?
  • edited April 2012
    Thanks so much for the feedback. For lighting(indoors) I use two umbrella lights that I purchased on Ebay as well as one window in the "studio".

I do some post editing, but not a whole lot. I mostly just bump up the exposure, sharpen and reduce the noise a bit. If it's a newborn session, I will clean up the skin and give the skin a smooth look. I'm still learning everything about aperture and shutter speeds. I usually shoot in RAW on manual, ISO of 200, 1/200, and 5.6. It changes depending on the setting though.
  • Howdy @Teri - With a budget of $500 and the need for creative compositions (outdoors and indoors), I would go for the Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 (see here). This is a great value lens, with a similar zoom range to your 18-55mm kit lens. The key difference is the f/2.8 maximum aperture throughout the zoom range.