Zoom Lens question

Hi,

I am an avid amateur and I just purchased a used D810. I was using a d7000 and I will just make that my backup. I have a Nikon 80-200 2.8 with the push-pull zoom that is pretty old but it is in like- new condition.

I am looking at the 28-300 and the 70-300 for the D810. I know there are issues with some copies of the 28-300 but if I could get one that is a good version that would be great. I also know the 70-300 is a pretty good lens.

My question is should I just use my old 80-200? Is it superior in terms of sharpness compared to these newer lenses? I know it is a beast in terms of weight but is it worth it?

Thanks for any input on this.

Comments

• This is a little out of the usual here, and I'm not too familiar with most of these lenses, so I would take the following verbiage with a grain of salt or two....

but from what I've read the 28-300 is a nice lens and at least reasonably sharp. There are more versions of the 70-300 than you can shake a stick at, with the first (AFD) a surprisingly good bargain, the next (AFG) said to be a real dog, the third (AFS-VR) very very good, and the fourth for FX (AF-P) said to be very good. There are also two DX versions of this length, one with and one without VR, and with a long-end aperture of 6.3. The DX VR version has no switch on the lens to turn off VR and full compatibility requires a camera with software VR toggling. The new generation of P lenses focus very fast and quietly, but work only with newer cameras. It will work with a D810 but will be utterly unusable on a D7000, not focusing even manually. The manual override on these lenses is not mechanical but "by wire," so it really won't work at all.