50mm 1.8D Lens

edited May 2017 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello,

I know the 50mm 1.8G lens is more recommended for the D3200 due to the 1.8D not having the autofocus ability; however, I purchased the 1.8D thinking it would still give me good shots. I am a beginner in photography, but have noticed that my pictures with this lens are hit and miss. Sometimes the faces of the people are in focus, other times they are not.

Any tips on how to ensure I keep the people in focus? I know its manual and I do adjust as needed, but even when I think they are in focus, I go to review them and they are not.

Any tips or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. =)

Comments

• edited May 2017
    I always found a 50mm lens a bit hard to focus on the D3200. My eyesight is getting a little weaker with age, and one thing that helped some was the DK-21M eyepiece magnifier. That does not give a lot of magnification, but it helps a little. It also reduces eyepoint so that to see the full frame you have to squeeze right in to the finder, but it does help a little to get center sharpness.

Also, make sure you enable the rangefinder option. In addition to the focus confirmation dot, the rangefinder will give you an actual scale in the viewfinder, to tell you which way to move the focus. It can help. Although the focus is manual, the focus confirmation dot and rangefinder will apply to the position of the focus point, so make sure you're focusing at the dot, and center it with the [OK] button as needed.

Also make sure that you have the viewfinder diopter as close as you can get. Look through the viewfinder and try to get the numbers at the bottom, and the frame lines in the center, as sharp as possible. If you're very farsighted, the D3200 has limited positive diopter, but another advantage of the DK-21M is that it increases the positive diopter by a good bit, making it much nicer for us old farsighted folks.