Portrait Lenses

edited February 2017 Posted in » Nikon D5300 Forum
I have a D5300 and these lenses:
Tamron AF 70 300mm 1:4-5.6
AFS NIKKOR 35mm 1:1.8G
AFS NIKKOR 55-200mm 1: 4-5 6GII
My question is are these lenses sufficient for just taking portrait pictures or decent zooms, or should I get rid of them and start with something different? Obviously I am new to this so please help if possible. Most pictures will be taken inside my church with low lighting. Thanks.

Comments

• edited February 2017
    Any of these can be good portrait lenses if used right, but it will depend a little on what you're trying to do, how you compose, and where you do it. The two zooms can both render pretty nice portraits, especially in their middle ranges, if there's enough light, but without a flash they're going to be difficult indoors unless you crank the ISO up high.

Unless you have a flash better than the built in one, you're likely to need to shoot in available light, as the built in flash can be pretty harsh. But you can try flash too, or mild fill flash if need be, with the built in flash. You'll have to watch out for hard shadows in interior shots.