Blurred/dark camera on rostrum

edited February 2017 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi, got my D3100 on a rostrum. Subject is B&W artwork under glass, and rightly lit!

But pictures are coming out very blurred and dark. What's going wrong? I've adjusted ISO from 100 to 400, but shutter speed went up to 1/500 from 1/125. Need to get this right, I will be taking a lot of pictures like this. This is my first attempt!

Comments

• edited February 2017
    Artwork under glass will always be a problem, as reflection can be an issue, as well as light you cannot control, and proximity you cannot control.

Just changing ISO with automatic metering will not change your overall exposure. If the image is too dark, you must compensate. If you want to stay automatic, try changing your metering mode to spot, and aiming it at the subject. The spot meter occupies the same space as the focus point and moves with it. Otherwise, get out of auto ISO and switch to manual exposure, and simply disobey the meter recommendation until you get what you're after.

What focus mode are you using? Don't use multi-area, as that will try to find the nearest thing it thinks is a subject, which might not be your art work. Go to Single servo, single point, and aim that point at what you're after. Make sure you know where the point is, and recenter it with the [OK] button if it's strayed. If that does not work, go to manual focus. Make sure that the subject you want to shoot is within the focus range of the lens. If you're on a tripod, you can switch to Live View zoom in the rear screen to fine tune your focus. You can also try AF in Live View with the focus set to AFS. If the light is decent, the focus will be very accurate.