Exposure difference between normal and live view

linlin
edited January 2017 Posted in » Canon T3i Forum
I have a Canon T3i and a very good preset 500mm preset lens. In "live view" (mirror up) it exposes correctly. In normal view (mirror down) overexposes by 1 or 2 stops. Metering mode is set to "evaluative" and everything else is equal (tripod and wired remote shutter release).

Any ideas?

Comments

• edited January 2017
    Hi @LIN,
    I am not sure why your mirror lens does this as I am not technical. It could be something to do with the difference between contrast detect in live view and phase detection in viewfinder operation. However, the fact that you have discovered it means that you can use your exposure compensation button when using the viewfinder and set it to zero when using live view. If I turn up any answers, I will repost.
    Regards,
    PBked
  • linlin
    edited January 2017
    Thanks.

Through the help of Steven at the Canon support group, I have learned that you are partially correct.

The rest of the story is that in Live View and AV mode, the camera measures the light falling on the recording sensor and determines the correct shutter speed for its estimate of the best overall exposure, regardless of the aperture. In Viewfinder mode, the light is not hitting the recording sensor, but an auxiliary array of sensors, and, further, it does not disregard aperture but makes an educated guess at that f-stop before setting shutter speed.

Depending on its guess, the image will be underexposed, properly exposed or over exposed, almost randomly and there is no way to predict which of these it will, so there is no way know the proper offset.