Questions

edited August 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3300 Forum
Hello all,
I've really enjoyed reading this blog and the tremendous information - so much reading to do still! I'm just getting into photography and have been inspired by Duchess of Cambridge's own photos of her children. I'd like to be able to take similar photos. I've been researching cameras that I can afford and have settled (though I'm open to changes) on the D3300. Nikon, simply because my dad has a D40 which he does not use and has said I can sell and have the lenses.
My questions:
1. Would this camera be a good place to start to learn photography to gain skills like the Duchess has please?
2. Would the D40's lenses (I have an 18-55mm which came with the D40 and I expect to sell with it, and a 55-200mm which mum bought for dad at considerable cost) work with the D3300? I don't even know what it does!
3. I'll be flying through duty free shortly and plan to purchase the camera there. Is the first lens that is recommended on this site (30mm) worth purchasing along with the wifi connectivity?

In brief, will the 55-200mm for the D40 work for the D3300, and is this a suitable first camera to hone my own skills for beautiful shots of children and, of our flight and holidays etc?

Thank you all, for any feedback. I'm excited!
Alice

Comments

• edited August 2016
    The D40 is not all that bad, and for learning photography one could do worse. The D3300 is newer, better, and capable of fully supporting the latest electronic aperture lenses. In particular, high ISO performance is greatly increased, and you should find it easier to get sharp pictures without digital noise in difficult light. Don't expect to get very much for the D40 - they go pretty cheaply these days.