D5200 issues

edited July 2016 Posted in » Nikon D5200 Forum
Hey guys, newbie here. I've trolled the forums a bit but this is my first post. I was wondering if you guys can help with an issue I've been having. I've heard of the D5200 "Press shutter release again" error. From what I've read, for most people, this occurs and renders the camera almost inoperable, if what I gather is correct. I'm receiving the error myself, but it only happens when I close the aperture a bit. I have 4 lenses. The two prime lenses I have throw the error when I close the aperture by one or two stops, shooting at the fastest aperture has no issues. The two zoom lenses I have throw the error after I close the aperture by 3-4 stops. Shooting at the fastest 2 stops never throws the error. Even when I receive the error, the camera takes the photo at what seems to be the correct exposure. I can continue to take photos at the current exposure settings even when the error is up on the screen, but I cannot change any of the exposure settings. I am currently shooting photos of landscapes mainly during the day and this poses a significant problem. And to make matters worse, I'm on an island that does not seem to have any kind of camera repair service. If there is any advice that someone can give, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks in advance and I hope everyone has a great day.

Comments

• Unfortunately, this seems to be one of those problems that can be one of many, all of which send the same error message, and it can be very difficult to troubleshoot.

A number of times, it turns out to be a mirror jam, caused by the mirror over-traveling the lower support. However, that usually will not allow any picture to be taken at all, so it doesn't sound as if this is it.

I'd check that the battery is good, try a different memory card, clean the lens contacts, and perhaps try resetting the camera. But if it persists, I suspect the only cure will be to get it repaired.