50mm or 55-300mm lens for pageant photos?

edited January 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I am brand new to a DSLR camera. I just got my D3200 for Christmas and I have since purchased a 50mm lens and a 55-300mm lens (my son plays football and my daughter dances). My question is, which lens would you recommend for pictures during a school pageant held in the dark auditorium, and are there any special settings? I've purchased and printed your cheat sheets for each of the 3 lenses that I have now, I just have to put them to good use. :)

Thank you!

Comments

• edited January 2016
    It's hard to say for sure without knowing how well the stage is lit, but I would be inclined to stick with the 50mm if you can get moderately close, because you will be able to open up the aperture and have a better chance of stopping motion, and it is also likely to focus faster. The 55-300mm is a nice lens for many things, but it is slow to focus sometimes, especially in bad light. The 50mm might be a bit wide for some things, but if you don't print very large, there's a good bit of room for cropping. If the stage is fairly bright and if you can get away with high ISO, the 55-300mm will work all right too, but it will be harder to catch correct focus, harder to stop motion, and you may find you're erasing a lot of misses.

If possible, I'd experiment in the space or a similar space, first of all to decide what level of digital noise from high ISO is acceptable. This will vary a bit on how large you print, and also on what the subject is. People are often a bit more forgiving of objects, and you can get away with a fairly high ISO if the alternative is missing the shot.

If you can then figure out what shutter speeds you can get away with, you can set your maximum ISO in Auto ISO to whatever you're comfortable with (I'd make sure it does not go to HIGH, because that really is nasty), set a shutter speed in S priority, and let the camera set the aperture.