Life after kit lens

edited January 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hello Moose,

First of all, I am so glad to find your site. It is very informative.

I just got a used D3200 as my first DSLR. I am very new to the photography world.

What lens would you recommend for me to buy after the kit lens?

I am planning to shoot mainly landscape, or people with landscape as background.

Thank you for your help.

Comments

• edited January 2016
    I suggest you decide first what focal lengths of the current kit lens you use most or miss most. The 18-55mm kit lens covers the range of both the most popular and bargain priced prime lenses, the 35mm f/1.8 DX lens, and the 50mm f/1.8. 35mm is considered "normal" for a DX format camera, and will give you a nice overall look, with perspective that resembles closely what your eye sees. 50mm is a mild telephoto that still does not affect perspective much, but compresses it slightly, produces good portraits, and narrows your viewpoint a little.

From the purely optical point of view, the kit lens is quite decent. A prime lens will likely be a little sharper, a little contrastier, and open wider for low light and shallow depth of field, but if the kit lens does what you need, \don't assume a better lens will bring better results. Most of the economy in the kit lens is achieved by the use of plastics and cheap materials, and relatively small apertures.

There are other focal lengths as well, but those two are among the most common and least expensive lenses for this format. You might also consider the 40mm micro lens, which though not the best dedicated macro lens, can shoot very close, and gives a nice compromise between the two other primes.