Party photos

edited January 2016 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Good morning.

My husband bought me my camera on our vacation in December, so I am very new at this.
I tried to take some photo's at a party we had. It was very dark inside (we had some really bad weather), and most of the photo's I took were really bad.
I tried a few settings but ended up using AUTO.

My question is, what settings would you recommend for this type of environment?

Comments

• edited January 2016
    Did you get good photos with auto?

For some things like casual party snapshots when you don't have time to make adjustments, that may well be the best option, though it's less useful than many when you want more control. In Auto mode the camera makes all the decisions, and you're sort of at its mercy.

If you're indoors and it's dark, you pretty much need flash, unless you're getting creative with natural light, and people are cooperating by not moving around much. But you can get a lot done with artificial light and no flash.

If there's enough light inside or out or both, you can get by without flash. Open the window shades, turn on the lights, put your camera on its widest aperture, crank the ISO up to 800 or so (but not the very top, too noisy), put your lens on its largest aperture (smallest F number) and use either Aperture Priority or Manual mode. In manual, you must keep an eye on the meter and adjust shutter speed to be right. In A mode, the shutter speed is set by the camera. Make sure it does not go too slow to hand hold in either case. If it does, up the ISO.