Nikon D610 camera drop - viewfinder not working.

edited January 2016 Posted in » General Discussion
Hey Everyone! I'm an American Professional Photographer traveling the world right now, and I'm currently in Indonesia. A few days ago in Thailand my camera took a fall off of my camera strap, and fell about two feet onto concrete. Everything about the camera worked and functioned properly except that I could not see the focus square through the viewfinder. Yet, in the info menu, I could see that the camera still recognized the function, it simply did not display it through the viewfinder, but still displayed the grid that helps you "center" your images.

I tried to pull the battery for 30 seconds to "reset" the camera, but this only made the problem worse.

Now the viewfinder is completely blurry, and displays no brackets, grids, or displays, except for the Shutter Speed/ISO/light meter on the bottom, which is in perfect focus (thus, it's not the diopter). AF still "works", but no matter what I do, I can't pull the image into focus through the viewfinder (both Auto and Manually).

If I open Live View, the camera auto focuses perfectly, and displays a crystal clear, normal functioning image.

I'm stuck. Any ideas? If anyone knows of a camera repair shop in Bali, please let me know. I have no plans. So, I could sit here and surf for a few weeks if I need to.

Closest Nikon Headquarters are in Jakarta, but I'd like to leave here into India soon.

So if anyone has any suggestions, perhaps even DIY repair (please don't yell at me for saying that - ha), please let me know.

Thank you all,

ET

Comments

• edited January 2016