Upgrade

edited December 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
First let me thank you for the great job you are doing. For people like us who are new to Digital SLR, this is a great place to start with.

I have been using the D3100 for last 4-5 years. I have been using both manual and auto settings. I have just purchased your Cheat sheets for the Nikon D3100 and 18-55mm, hoping it will improve my manual settings.

I am wondering if you can suggest which lens should be my next upgrade on this camera?

Thank you

Comments

• edited December 2015
    It's a bit hard not knowing your budget and your needs.

If you are satisfied with the focal length range you're getting with the 18-55mm, and just looking for a bit more quality, I would guess your next best bet would be one of the bargain primes within that range. The 35mm f/1.8 DX lens is a fast, sharp normal length lens, and the 50mm f/1.8 AFS is a fast, sharp mild telephoto that will give you very good portraits with a bit easier job of blurring out distracting backgrounds. Both those lenses are relatively inexpensive, and optically superior. A prime (single focal length, no zoom) lens will tend to be a tiny bit sharper than the zoom, with better contrast and better resistance to flare.

If you wish for more macro magnification, you might look at the 40mm micro lens, which I've heard is pretty nice up close, and also at 40mm makes a decent normal length prime for general work. There are other micro lenses, which might be better for dedicated up close work, but they get rather expensive, and I don't know what your budget is.

If you are looking for more telephoto reach, the 55-200mm DX lens is relatively inexpensive and makes a nice transition with the one you have. The 55-300mm is also good, but more expensive. It sometimes goes on sale, and if you catch the right timing, it's more of a bargain. Both those longer zooms are well behaved, reasonably sharp, and in other characteristics are similar to your kit lens.