Lake Tahoe during Thanksgiving

edited November 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3100 Forum
Hi,

I will be travelling to Lake Tahoe this Thanksgiving. Could you please help with the lens and other accessories that are required to take some good shots of nature? I'm a beginner to photography.

Any help is appreciated!

Comments

• edited November 2015
    What lens do you have now?

If you have the usual kit 18-55mm lens, this is actually not a bad lens for scenery and the like, and also for general use on people, groups, cityscapes, closeups and much else. You generally are going to want generous depth of field and relatively wide angles for scenery, both of which that lens can deliver well. If you're doing a lot of scenery, a tripod is nice to have, as it allows you to frame carefully and shoot steadily.

If the nature you're shooting is more like wildlife, birds and animals, then something with more telephoto reach would be good. If you're on a budget, the 55-200mm DX lens is a nice companion for the kit 18-55mm and low in price. The 55-300mm gets lots of reach and is a great traveling lens, but costs a good bit more. It's worth checking for sales and rebates. The lens is reasonably sharp, has lots of reach, and the vibration reduction is very effective.

The 35mm f/1.8 DX prime lens is also relatively inexpensive. That gives you what would generally be considered a normal perspective, low light capability, fast focusing, and it's sharp and well behaved. You can't zoom it, so you have to pay a little more attention to composition. Many people find that it helps them to concentrate on what they're doing. I use a different 35mm, but would not like to be long without a good normal perspective prime lens. If I did not have a "pet" normal lens already, I'd almost certainly get that one.