Focus mode and af area mode.

edited November 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi all, newbie here. I have just purchased a Nikon D3200 and I am very pleased with my purchase, but I am confused how to set up the focus mode and the af area mode. I mainly take pictures of people and landscape type, so mainly static non moving subjects. Any suggestions how to set up this area of my camera would be most helpful.
Thank you.

Comments

• edited November 2015
    The scene modes and Automatic don't allow you to change much, but the A, S, M and P modes do, and for the moment we'll assume (and hope) that you're using these, which give you many more options for control.

Automatic Area mode may get what you need, but has certain ideas about what you want, and will sometimes get it wrong. It uses computer programming to try to figure it out, and tends to aim for the nearest face or the distance that satisfies the most focal points at once. You can't control what you focus on.

For control, you're better off usually with one of the other modes that uses a single point as a starting point.

Single point does exactly what you'd expect. It focuses on the point you've chosen and stays there without regard to whether things move.

Dynamic area starts at a single point, and tracks a moving subject from there. If the subject does not move, it stays. Nothing in the display will tell you what it's doing.

3D starts at a single point and tracks, but uses more sophisticated software to track, including color information. The red lights in the display will light as it tracks.

For truly static subjects, AFS will focus on a single point, and as long as you keep your finger on the button, it will stick with that point, allowing you to focus and then recompose without refocusing. The two dynamic modes do not work with AFS at all.