Focus Mode and Release Mode

SRCSRC
edited October 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
I'm new to photography in general, and I recently purchased Moose's cheat cards for the D3200. In general I can't figure out the last two steps - changing the focus mode and the release mode. I can't locate them on the menu. Am I looking in the wrong spot?

In particular I'm setting up for fast sports (high school football).

Any help is appreciated.

Comments

• edited October 2015
    For focus mode, use the [i] button on the back (bottom left). If the regular display is up, press the button once. If it is blank press it twice, to get the settings along the right side and bottom of the display. Use the up down and sideways arrow keys to get to the different entries (highlighted in yellow). Use the [OK] button to access the choices for whatever is highlighted. Make a choice with the arrow key, and then hit [OK] again to register it. You can just touch the shutter button to exit the menu or the [i] button to return to the regular data display.

You can also select "AF area mode" in the shooting menu, but the [i] button is the only way to select AF mode. I don't know just why that is, but in any case, the [i] menu is the easiest way to do both.

Focus mode is fifth down on the right, and focus area mode sixth down.

For release mode, you have two choices. As long as you're in the [i] menu, it is the fourth down on the right, and you can choose it the same as you do the focus settings. There is also a dedicated release mode button on the back of the camera, second up on the right side of the screen, just above the trash can icon. Same choices either way. Use the arrow and [OK] to select.

For sports you want the continuous release function, whose icon is three little boxes on top of each other.
  • SRCSRC
    edited October 2015
    BRUTO - Thanks a bunch!