Dilemma between D3300 and 1200D

edited October 2015 Posted in » General Discussion
Hello guys. I'm new to dslr photography, and I'm planning to get one. My dilemma is that I can get a Canon 1200D (with 18-55mm and 55-200mm lens) and a Nikon D3300 for the same price. I know a D3300 is a better device than the 1200D, but does getting the 55-200mm lens along with the kit lens in Canon make it more lucrative, or should I stick with Nikon (with only the 18-55mm)?

Thanks

Comments

• edited October 2015
    I'm honestly no expert, but I'd personally pick the Nikon. It has so many great features and you'd probably not be looking for a higher end camera after half a year, because unlike the 1200D, the Nikon has a few intermediate features that'll keep you satisfied.
  • edited October 2015
    I don't know what the Canon's pictures look like, but I think you'll like what the Nikon gives you. Though the D3300 (and its predecessor the D3200, which I have) is bottom of the line, and lacks many features and refinements, its sensor quality is top of the line.
  • edited October 2015
    Although I'm a Canon enthusiast, I don't push any of their stuff. You need to do what I did when buying digital for the first time; take a look at both cameras live. In other words, visit a camera shop and handle each of the models you are interested in. How do they feel in your hand? Can you reach buttons and wheels easily with your fingers? Ask to try them with different lenses to check out the balance and weight.
    As for the capabilities of the cameras themselves, beware comparison reviews. Every camera has its plus and minus points. What the Nikon lacks, the Canon might have or vice versa. It's a case of swings and roundabouts.
    The important thing to remember when you do decide, is that you are buying into a system. Nikon lenses fit Nikons and Canon lenses fit Canons etc.