Washed colors

edited October 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Recently I got Nikon D3200 with 18-55mm and 50-200mm Nikkor lenses. Whenever I take a picture it seems like the colors are kind of washed; they're not as vivid as I want. Even on ban old D50 it looks way better. I was using D50 but I am not a pro, so I mostly just "shot". :)

Please help! I want to take my best shots, with my kit lenses, usually outdoors, sky, people, portraits. What are the best settings for it? Also, pictures taken with the D50 are very sharp (even after zooming on the computer screen). With the D3200, when I zoom it, it loses its sharpness fast. What am I doing wrong? I try not to shoot in Auto mode, because I get high ISO and images look very bad then, so I try to use manual settings (usually P and M modes) and set ISO to 100/200 or 400 max.

Seems like I need to get another PhD. :)

P.S. sorry for my English, it's not my native language.

Comments

• edited October 2015
    OK, after digging a bit in the settings I found something like Picture Control. I set it to Vivid Colors, and adjusted sharpness and saturation. I also found something called Exposure Value (I saw the button earlier, but it said "for pros only EV button, do not touch") and, ta-dah, pictures look way better!
    So sorry for my questions (maybe childish, but it seems that my previous Nikon D50 had all these settings already set in the way I like it :), but if you have any other tips for me, I am open to suggestions, because now my adventure with photography is getting a huge boost!
  • edited October 2015