Friday night lights

edited August 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
What would you recommend for shooting football games?

Comments

• edited August 2015
    Me too! Like in the next 6 hours!
  • edited August 2015
    I noticed your question was dated for August 16th. I'm no expert, but I would say most people like to use higher shutter speeds for sports. That way you can freeze the ball in place, the plays, or the movements. Please let me know what you came up with. Thank you, Lonnie
  • edited August 2015
    Indeed, higher shutter speeds, fastest lens you can find, and telephoto if possible. If you're following a player, try to pan with the player to reduce blur and focus issues. If you have difficulty tracking and focusing a player with lens you have, pull back to a wider view for slightly easier focus and slightly faster lens speed.

If you're fairly far from the action, you can use a wide aperture and still have enough depth of field, and that will help you to achieve a high shutter speed without cranking ISO too high.

Set your shutter to multiple firing, so you can fire short bursts when action occurs, and increase your chance of getting a decisive moment. But don't overdo it if you're shooting Raw, or the camera will freeze momentarily. Take a few shots at a time.
  • edited August 2015
    I purchased a Nikon D3200 and I am a beginner in photography. I mainly bought the camera to take pictures of my children and family but I am having trouble getting the camera to focus. I purchased cheat cards from Moose's website, but I still have problems with focusing in on certain shots! Thanks.
  • edited August 2015
    @wheezer37, check your focus settings. Depending on the circumstances, you may do better with different settings from the default.