Landscape lens

edited August 2015 Posted in » Nikon D3200 Forum
Hi, I'm still new to photography, but I'm still confused about the different lenses. Mostly I shoot landscape, but I'm having a difficult time deciding what lens should I buy. Should I be using a prime lens or zoom lens?

Comments

• edited August 2015
    For the best results, use a prime. Many people are satisfied with the results they get from their 18-55mm kit lens, but if you invested in a 35mm prime you would definitely see an improvement in quality.
    No doubt the Nikon owners on this site will soon provide you with some suitable recommendations.
    PBked
  • edited August 2015
    Thanks a lot @PBKED. I'm actually confused about what mm I should buy, but your comment helped me decide which lens I should be buying.
  • edited August 2015
    For landscape, tastes differ, but generally speaking, a wider angle (shorter focal length) is preferred. Exactly which length or lengths you prefer is probably best determined by using the 18-55mm kit lens first, and keeping track of what zoom settings you find most useful. If you're always down at 18mm and wishing for wider, then you need a wide angle. If you're most often in the middle, you may well be satisfied with the 35mm, which is a "normal" perspective. If the 35mm suits you, you're in luck, because it's a bargain.

In the DX format, 18mm is a wide angle, but not super-wide. In 35mm format, my favorite wide angle lens was 24mm, and I occasionally use a 20mm. In DX format, that would be about 16mm and 13mm. If you look at photos on the web, you will see a lot of shots made at the very wide perspective, and although they can be quite dramatic when done right, it's also pretty easy to come up with a cliche. For my own part, I always found 24mm in 35mm (DX = 16) a width that gives you very wide perspective, without looking radically peculiar.